Sonntag, 19. August 2018
 

Podcast on the venues

last comments

dank_en

Alek Popov


popovAlek Popov was born in 1966. He graduated from St. Constantine Ciril Philosopher College for Ancient Languages and Cultures in Sofia and later received his Masters of Arts degree in Bulgarian Literature, he lives and works in Sofia. Popov has published eight single volumes and two novels, among "Mission:London", which has a sarcastic view on post-communistic relations, even in Bulgarian terms.

Popov, who ist also the secretary of the Bulgarian P.E.N. Centre and director of the House of Children's Book in Sofia, was immediately awarded for the stage and radio adaption of his novel. The works that are going to be performed and the situation of Bulgarian theatre is described in a background report by the theatre specialist Violeta Detcheva.

Popov doesn't hide the fact that his experiences as an ambassador in London influenced his successful novel. Although his characters follow the political developments, they, like the new ambassador Varadin in "Mission:London", don't necessarily end up in new circumstances. On Austrian radio, Popov once explained: "In the Balkan countries, there is still the idea of an ideal State, which lies in the western world. The more western, the better. If you consequently follow this path you will circumnavigate the world and end up where you started."

The novel Mission:London brings the theatre in Osnabrück, even for the Spieltriebe3 festival, to a state of high drama. A detailed profile of the play by Stefan Bläske will shortly be appearing here, and you're able to hear Popov reading from his play.

www.alekpopov.net

(photo copyright: Theatre of Osnabrück)

Montag, 25. September 2017
 

Podcast Spielstätten

letzte kommentare

dank

Alek Popov

 

popov

Alek Popov wurde 1966 geboren. Er studierte bulgarische Philologie, lebt und arbeitet in Sofia. Popov veröffentlichte bisher acht Erzählbände und zwei Romane, darunter "Mission:London", der auch für bulgarische Verhältnisse einen sarkastischen Blick auf die postkommunistischen Verhältnisse wirft.

Popov, der zur Zeit auch als Sekretär beim bulgarischen P.E.N. Zentrum arbeitet und das Haus des Kinderbuchs leitet, hat seinen Roman mehrmals fürs bulgarische Radio und für die Bühne bearbeitet. Welche Dramatiker in Bulgarien gespielt werden und wie es um die dortige Theaterlandschaft bestellt ist, beschreibt die Theaterwissenschaftlerin Violeta Detcheva in einem Hintergrundbericht.

Popov macht kein Geheimnis daraus, dass seine Erfahrungen als Kulturattaché der bulgarischen Botschaft in London in den Erfolgsroman eingeflossen sind. Seine Figuren gehen die politischen Entwickungen zwar mit, aber landen wie der neue Botschafter Varadin in "Mission:London" nicht unbedingt in neuen Verhältnissen. Im österreichischen Radio hat Popov das einmal so beschrieben: "Am Balkan gibt es nach wie vor die Idee eines idealen Staates. Und der liegt natürlich im Westen. Je westlicher, desto besser. Wenn man diesen Weg konsequent weitergeht, hat man eines Tages die Welt umrundet und ist wieder am Ausgangspunkt."

Den Roman Mission:London dramatisiert das Theater Osnabrück selbst für das Spieltriebe 3 Festival. Ein ausführliches Stückporträt von Stefan Bläske beschreibt, wie Popovs Arbeit einen selbstironischen Blick sowohl auf die ost- als auch auf die westeuropäischen Verhältnisse wirft, und im O-Ton kann man Popov auch hören und sehen.

www.alekpopov.net


(Foto: Theater Osnabrück)