Mittwoch, 25. April 2018
 

Podcast on the venues

last comments

dank_en

Nathan Vecht


vechtNathan Vecht was born in the Netherlands in Haarlem in 1977. He studied architecture at the Polytechnic University Delft and began performing in cabaret shows, which paved his way to the theatre. In 2002, he won the Camaretten Cabaret festival together with Ruben Nicolai as the duo "Nathan & Ruben". He then gained recognition as playwright with "Woningwood" (Flat Emergency) in 2007. His play "Lot" was awarded a prize at the one-actor competition at the Theatre De Engelenbak in April 2009.

Being based on his idols, Woody Allen, Neil Labute and Ayckbourn and of course influenced by his time working in comedy, Vecht's plays are based on witty dialogues and the comical view of everyday life and its pitfalls. Vecht subtitles his play Cycling for Malawi a tragic comedy. It can be fundamentally understood as a caustic depiction of society: Characters who have a pronounced lack of self-confidence bathe in charity.

A detailed profile of the play by Simone Kaempf is published. Journalist Simon van den Berg explains the relation between contemporary drama and stage direction in his background report on the theatrical landscape of the Netherlands. And here you can hear (and see) Nathan Vecht reading from his play.

www.nathanvecht.nl

(photo copyright: Theatre of Osnabrück)

Freitag, 24. November 2017
 

Podcast Spielstätten

letzte kommentare

dank

Nathan Vecht


vechtNathan Vecht wurde 1977 im niederländischen Haarlem geboren. Er studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität Delft und begann auf Kabarettbühnen zu spielen, von wo ihn sein Weg ans Theater führte. 2002 gewann er zusammen mit Ruben Nicolai als Duo "Ruben & Nathan" das Cameretten Kabarettfestival. Mit "Woningnood" (Wohnungsnot) machte er dann im Jahr 2007 erstmals auch als Dramatiker auf sich aufmerksam. Sein Stück "Lot" gehörte im April 2009 mit zu den Gewinnern beim Einakter-Wettbewerb des Theater De Engelenbak.

In der Tradition seiner Vorbilder Woody Allen, Neil Labute oder Alan Ayckbourn, und natürlich angelehnt an seine Zeit beim Comedy, leben Vechts Stücke vom Dialogwitz, vom komischen Blick auf den Alltag und seine Abgründe. Tragikomisch nennt Vecht sein Stück Fahrradfahren für Malawi im Untertitel. Man kann es durchaus als ätzendes Gesellschaftsbild lesen: Figuren mit ausgeprägter Ich-Schwäche, die sich im Wohltätertum sonnen. In einem ausführlichen Stückporträt schaut Simone Kaempf hinter die Gutmenschenfassade.

Über das Verhältnis zeitgenössischer Dramatik und Regie schreibt der Journalist Simon van den Berg in seinem Hintergrundbericht zur Theaterlandschaft Niederlande. Und Nathan Vecht kommt auch selbst zu Wort: er liest aus seinem Originalstück.

www.nathanvecht.nl

(Foto: Theater Osnabrück)