Sonntag, 17. Januar 2021
 

Podcast on the venues

last comments

dank_en

| Print |

Theatrical Landscape of Finland

Article Index
Theatrical Landscape of Finland
Page 2
Page 3
All Pages

Pastime for a whole nation

by Jukka-Pekka Pajunen

Finland, a country in the northern corner of Europe, is a hot spot for theatre fanatics. A considerable amount of the 5,3 Mio citizens claim theatre to be their pastime. About 4 Mio tickets for theatre, dance and opera performances are sold per year. There are 60 performances to choose from in the area around Helsinki alone during a busy season every week, which displays just how many performances there are.

The theatre network is spread across the whole country and enables all inhabitants of the sparsely populated country to enjoy professional theatre in their home province. Theatre belongs along with libraries, orchestras and museums to the cultural services offered by the local communities. The strongest focus on theatre lies in the southern cities: Helsinki has 15 theatres, the largest of which have at least two stages, in Tampere there are six and in Turku five. Both the local and the national theatres have a permanent staff. The artistic part of it consists of an ensemble, bound stage directors, stage and costume designers as well as dramaturges. Freelance groups also strive to employ small ensembles, which are made up of guest actors. The ensembles allow a repertoire system, whilst a large part of the freelance scene perform en suite.

Statutory subsidisation
The financing of the theatre network has been the same for centuries: the commune pays 40 per cent of the costs, the state covers 30 per cent and the theatres cover the remaining 30 per cent with the profits of tickets. This division affects 45 theatres, six of which perform for the Swedish speaking minority of the population. The state subsidisation is statutory, a peculiarity in Finland, which has had a law that has supported theatres and orchestras since 1993. The subsidisation of the national theatre is dealt with separately: The 51 professional groups of the freelance scene are excluded from the regular government subsidisation. They have to bring in over 50 per cent of their budget and have to get the rest of the money from the government, communes and other sponsors. Solely commercial theatres that manage completely without government money hardly exist in Finland. They almost only produce music theatre and simple comedies.


In addition to the broad theatre network, countless festivals take place in Finland. The largest one is the Tampere Theatre Festival, which shows the latest foreign productions and a range of the season’s best Finish productions. The Tampere Festival, as well as the Stage festival organised by Helsinki festival and the more traditional Baltic Circle Festival are meeting points for those who are interested in the new directions of contemporary theatre. The so-called "lawless", the freelance roups that weren't included in the law on support for theatres have their own festival in Pori. There are also several festivals for amateur groups, Mikkeli and Seinäjoki are the largest ones.

The repertoire of  Finish theatre goes from hit musicals and comedies to classics, new native and foreign plays. In the season of 2006/2007 there were 203 Finish plays in repertoire, 38 per cent of which were world premieres. From the 154 foreign plays 26 per cent were Finish premieres. The largest amounts of foreign plays come from England and America. The amount of contemporary Finish plays has grown noticeably the last 15 years.

Young language that takes on an important role
The impulse for the flourishing of Finish drama derives from the dramaturge training at the theatre colleges, which put particular emphasis on writing. Every year talented young authors complete these studies (for example Maria Peura, Marjo, Niemi, Anna Krogerus, Tuomas Timonen, Heini Junkkaala, Okko Leo, Otso, Huopaniemi, Maria Kilpi). Many of them have not only received prizes for their dramas, but also approval and good reviews for their prose. Almost half of the world premieres are produced by the authors themselves, which displays the versatility of Finish playwrights.

In order to understand Finish theatre of today a quick overview of its development is required. Compared to the other great powers of European theatre, Finish theatre is very young. The first Finish performances only managed to get into the limelight in the first half of the 19th century. The actual calendar of Finish theatre began with Aleksis Kivi, whose plays "Die Heideschuster" (1864) and the novel that was partly written in drama "Seven Brothers" (1870), were a guide to the development of Finish drama and literature. The sparse audience of the 19th century didn't only watch Finish plays in the newly founded theatres - the Finish language had only just found its final written form - , but also especially German and Scandinavian innovations.

Shaped by everyday experiences and problems
Even though Finnish theatre had to start from scratch and was dependent on the work of amateurs, it was clear from the beginning that it would follow the development of its neighbouring countries and attempt to keep up with new directions. At the same time theatre was a pastime for the entire nation and was shaped by everyday experiences and problems. This realistic attitude was put on the same level as the audience and still remains today.


Now more than ever is being written for theatre and native plays are a definite guarantee for tickets to find buyers. The theatres react as quickly as possible to social changes and problems. There will most certainly be plays in the repertoire of autumn 2009 season concerning the newly developed crisis and growing unemployment. In Finnish theatre a popular character does not take on the role of a prankster but conveys points of view which the audience are able to relate to. Humans are usually shown as individuals, which creates a more extensive image of the relations between the individual and society.

Although the topics are accessible to a regular audience - cleaning ladies, plumbers, teacher or lawyers - the theatrical forms of plays do vary considerably. The traditional well-made-plays are still the majority in repertoire, but experimental and conceptual approaches are also finding their place. Especially Freelance groups gather theatre trends from across the globe and give the Finish theatre audience a taste of brand new directions. Because the theatres are part of the commune's cultural program, they play a supportive role in society. Local topics like local history, local characters or even local nature are a never-ending source of themes for local theatres.

Sixties building boom of too large stages
As  in other places in Europe, the commercialisation of Finish theatre is noticeable. Creativity is propelled by the ideology of productivity. The cultural awareness that was kicked off at the end of the sixties lead to a building boom of new theatres. The large stages of local theatres were built too big in relation to the segmented audience of today. The result of this was that the large theatres were commercialised and it was left to small theatres to produce so-called 'art'.

The situation has meanwhile been recognised and the battle to bring art back to large stages has begun. The national theatre is one of the only large theatres to have managed to only produce straight theatre and doesn't put the all so popular Anglo-American plays in their repertoire. New generations of theatre makers (like Heidi Räsänen, Saana Lavaste, Emilia Pöyhönen) have bravely accepted the economic challenge and worked outside of local and established theatres. Apart from new groups and theatres, many of the young creators (Miko Jaakkola, Riku Innamaa, Samuli Reunanen) have taken root in the large, publically financed theatres and the more optimistic ones amongst us already foresee the last hours of the worst commercialisation.

(Translated from Finish into German by Martina Marti)


Back to the beginning


Read more about the finish stage director and dramatist Kristian Smeds.


Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
smaller | bigger

busy

Freitag, 17. August 2018
 

Podcast Spielstätten

letzte kommentare

dank

| Drucken |

Theaterlandschaft Finnland

Beitragsseiten
Theaterlandschaft Finnland
Seite 2
Seite 3
Alle Seiten

Freizeitbeschäftigung fürs ganze Volk

von Jukka-Pekka Pajunen

Finnland, in der nördlichen Ecke Europas, ist ein Tummelplatz für Theaterfanatiker. Ein beachtlicher Teil der 5,3 Millionen Einwohner nennt Theater als Freizeitbeschäftigung. Jährlich werden gut 4 Millionen Eintrittskarten für Theater-, Tanz- und Opernvorstellungen verkauft. Einen Eindruck von der Dichte der Theatervorstellungen vermittelt die Tatsache, dass allein in der Gegend um Helsinki in einer Woche während einer ausgelasteten Theatersaison ungefähr 60 Vorstellungen zur Auswahl stehen.

Das Theaternetz erstreckt sich über das ganze Land und ermöglicht allen Einwohnern dieses spärlich besiedelten Landes, professionelles Theater in ihrer Heimatprovinz zu sehen. Theater gehört neben Bibliotheken, Orchestern und Museen zu den Kulturdienstleistungen, die von den Kommunen angeboten werden. Die größte Konzentration an Theatern findet man in den Städten im Süden: Helsinki hat 15 Theater, von denen die größten mindestens zwei Bühnen haben, in Tampere gibt es sechs und in Turku fünf. Die Stadttheater wie auch das Nationaltheater verfügen über fest angestelltes Personal, dessen künstlerischer Kern aus dem Ensemble, festen Regisseuren, Bühnen- und Kostümbildnern sowie Dramaturgen besteht. Auch freie Gruppen sind bestrebt, ein kleines Ensemble zu engagieren, das sie mit Gastschauspielern vervollständigen. Das Ensemble ermöglicht ein Repertoiresystem, während ein großer Teil der freien Szene en suite spielt.

Gesetzlich verankerte Subventionspflicht
Schon seit Jahrzehnten folgt die Finanzierung des Theaternetzwerks dem gleichen Modell: die Kommunen kommen für ungefähr 40 Prozent der Kosten auf, der Staat deckt 30 Prozent, und die Theater bringen mit Karteneinnahmen die restlichen 30 Prozent ein. Diese Aufteilung betrifft 45 Schauspieltheater, sechs davon produzieren für die schwedischsprachige Minderheit Finnlands. Ihre staatlichen Subventionen sind gesetzlich verankert, eine Eigenheit Finnlands, das seit 1993 über ein Gesetz zur Förderung der Theater und Orchester verfügt. Die Subventionierung des Nationaltheaters wird separat geregelt. Von regelmäßigen staatlichen Subventionen ausgeschlossen sind die 51 professionellen Gruppen der freien Szene, die über 50 Prozent ihres Etats einspielen müssen und deren sonstigen Gelder vom Staat, den Kommunen und anderen Geldgebern kommen. Rein kommerzielle Theater, die gänzlich ohne öffentliche Gelder auskommen, gibt es in Finnland nur wenige. Sie produzieren fast ausschließlich Musiktheater und leichte Komödien.

 


Zusätzlich zum breiten Theaternetzwerk finden in Finnland zahlreiche Festivals statt. Das größte ist das Tampere Theatre Festival, das aktuelle ausländische Inszenierungen zeigt sowie eine Auswahl der besten finnischen Produktionen der jeweiligen Spielzeit. Das Tampere Festival, zusammen mit dem von den Helsinki Festspielen organisierte Stage Festival und dem traditionsreicheren Baltic Circle Festival in Helsinki sind Treffpunkte für Zuschauer, die neue Strömungen des zeitgenössischen Theaters mitverfolgen wollen. Die sogenannten Gesetzlosen, die freien Gruppen, welche nicht ins Gesetz zur Förderung der Theater aufgenommen wurden, treten bei ihrem eigenen Festival in Pori auf. Für Amateurgruppen gibt es mehrere Festivals, von denen die in Mikkeli und Seinäjoki die größten sind.

Die Spielpläne der finnischen Theater reichen von Hit Musicals und Komödien über Klassiker bis zu neueren einheimischen wie ausländischen Stücken. In der Spielzeit 2006/2007 waren 203 finnische Stücke auf den Spielplänen, 38 Prozent davon Uraufführungen, von den 154 ausländischen Stücken waren 26 Prozent finnischsprachige Erstaufführungen. Der größte Teil der ausländischen Stücke kommt aus England und Amerika. Der Anteil an zeitgenössischen finnischen Stücken ist in den letzten 15 Jahren spürbar gewachsen.

Junge Sprache, die einen wichtigen Platz einnimmt
Der Anstoß für das Wachstum der finnischen Dramatik kommt von der Dramaturgenausbildung an der Theaterhochschule, die vor allem das Schreiben in den Vordergrund hebt. Jedes Jahr schließen talentierte Autoren diesen Studiengang ab (beispielsweise Maria Peura, Marjo, Niemi, Anna Krogerus, Tuomas Timonen, Heini Junkkaala, Okko Leo, Otso Huopaniemi, Maria Kilpi). Viele von ihnen haben nicht nur für ihre Dramatik, sondern auch für ihre Prosa Anerkennung, gute Rezensionen und Preise erhalten. Die Vielseitigkeit der finnischen Dramatiker zeigt sich auch darin, dass fast die Hälfte der Uraufführungen von den Autoren selbst inszeniert wird.

Damit man das finnische Theater von heute verstehen kann, muss man sich einen kurzen Überblick über die Entwicklung des Theaters verschaffen. Verglichen mit den europäischen Theater-Großmächten ist das finnische Theater sehr jung. Die ersten Theatervorstellungen in finnischer Sprache schafften es erst in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts ins Rampenlicht, und die eigentliche Zeitrechnung des finnischen Theaters hat mit Aleksis Kivi angefangen, dessen Stück "Die Heideschuster" (1864) und der zum Teil in dramatischer Form geschriebene Roman "Die sieben Brüder" (1870) als Wegweiser für die Entwicklung des finnischsprachigen Dramas und überhaupt der finnischsprachigen Literatur verstanden werden können. Das im 19. Jahrhundert noch spärliche Publikum verfolgte in den eben erst gegründeten Theatern nicht nur finnische Stücke – die finnische Sprache hatte eben erst ihre endgültige Form als Schriftsprache gefunden –, sondern vor allem deutsche und skandinavische Neuheiten.

Tiefe Verankerung in alltäglichen Erfahrungen und Problemen
Auch wenn man mit dem Theaterhandwerk bei nahezu Null anfangen musste und fast ausschließlich auf Amateurkräfte angewiesen war, so stand doch von Anfang an fest, dass das finnische Theater den Entwicklungen in den Nachbarländern folgen und versuchen würde, mit neuen Strömungen mitzuhalten. Gleichzeitig blieb Theater eine Freizeitbeschäftigung für das gesamte Volk, tief verankert in den alltäglichen Erfahrungen und Problemen. Diese realistische und mit den Zuschauern auf eine gleiche Stufe gesetzte Haltung hat sich im finnischen Theater bis heute erhalten.
Heute wird mehr als je zuvor fürs Theater geschrieben, und einheimische Stücke sind ein sicherer Garant, dass Eintrittskarten ihre Abnehmer finden. Das Theater versucht, möglichst schnell auf gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und Probleme zu reagieren.


Ganz bestimmt werden die Spielpläne schon im Herbst 2009 Stücke vorweisen, welche die sich frisch entwickelnde Krise und die wachsende Arbeitslosigkeit behandeln. Ein gewisser volkstümlicher Charakter bedeutet im finnischen Theater nicht, Schwänke zu spielen, sondern Blickwinkel einzunehmen, die eine Identifizierung durch das Publikum ermöglichen. Probleme oder überhaupt Menschen werden meistens durch Individuen dargestellt, wodurch ein umfassenderes Bild von der Beziehung zwischen dem Individuum und der Gesellschaft entsteht.

Obwohl die Themen für gewöhnliche Zuschauer zugänglich sind – seien sie Putzfrauen, Klempner, Lehrer oder Juristen – variieren die theatralischen Formen der Stücke doch beträchtlich. Das traditionelle well-made-play macht in den Spielplänen noch die Mehrheit aus, aber auch experimentelle und konzeptuelle Ansätze finden ihren Platz. Vor allem freie Gruppen sind bereit, neue Theatertrends aus der ganzen Welt aufzusaugen und bringen dem finnischen Publikum brandaktuelle Kostproben neuer Strömungen. Weil die Theater ein Teil des Kulturangebots der Kommunen sind, haben sie auch eine fördernde Aufgabe gegenüber der Gemeinschaft. Lokale Thematiken wie Lokalgeschichte, lokale Persönlichkeiten oder sogar die örtliche Natur sind eine unerschöpfliche Quelle für Themen für die Stadttheater.

In den 60er Jahren Bau zu großer Bühnen
Wie anderswo in Europa, ist auch in Finnland die Kommerzialisierung des Theaters spürbar. Allzu oft wird Kreativität von der Ideologie einer wirtschaftlichen Produktivität vorangetrieben. Mit der Ende der 60er-Jahre losgetretenen, politisch gefärbten Sturzwelle des kulturellen Bewusstseins ging in Finnland ein Bauboom neuer Theatergebäude einher, was dazu führte, dass die großen Bühnen der Stadttheater im Verhältnis zu der heutigen segmentierteren Zuschauerbasis und einem expandierten Theaterangebot zu groß gebaut wurden. Dies führte dazu, dass die großen Bühnen kommerzialisiert wurden und es den kleinen Bühnen überlassen ist, sogenannte Kunst zu produzieren.

Die Situation wurde mittlerweile erkannt, und der Kampf hat schon begonnen, die Kunst zurück auf die großen Bühnen zu bringen. Das Nationaltheater ist unter den großen Theatern das einzige, das es geschafft hat, reines Sprechtheater zu zeigen, und das auch die sonst so beliebten angloamerikanischen Komödien nicht in den Spielplan nimmt. Neue Generationen von Theaterschaffenden (etwa Heidi Räsänen, Saana Lavaste, Emilia Pöyhönen) haben mutig die wirtschaftliche Herausforderung angenommen und außerhalb der Stadttheater und etablierten Theater gearbeitet. Neben neuen Gruppen und Spielstätten haben viele der jungen Macher (Miko Jaakkola, Riku Innamaa, Samuli Reunanen) auch in den großen, von der öffentlichen Hand finanzierten Theatern Fuß gefasst, und die optimistischeren unter uns hören schon die letzten Stunden des schlimmsten Kommerzdenkens schlagen.

(Aus dem Finnischen übersetzt von Martina Marti)

zurück zum Anfang des Artikels

Hier geht es zu den Texten über den finnischen Dramatiker und Regisseur Kristian Smeds.




Kommentare (0)Add Comment

Kommentar schreiben
smaller | bigger

busy