Sonntag, 17. Januar 2021
 

Podcast on the venues

last comments

dank_en

| Print |

Theatrical Landscape of Serbia

Article Index
Theatrical Landscape of Serbia
Page 2
Page 3
All Pages

With the downfall of socialistic realism, which had turned into the official aesthetic of Belgrade as a cultural support, the avant-garde drama lost its heretical aura. At the same time several political and social problems occurred, and for some time students and critical intellectuals did some serious demonstrating.

Dedicated drama under Tito
The constantly alert Serbian playwrights reacted immediately. A new middle-aged generation distinguished itself, and "a few new lads" performed very critical plays, which were partly declared as subversive and anti-socialistic. A few (at Tito's personal command) were prohibited, like the play "When pumpkins blossomed" after the novel by Dragoslav Mihailović. It is about the fate of a person who decided for Stalin and against Tito in 1948 and was brought to the Goli Otok camp, a kind of Gulag, where the author had been himself. The author's thesis: "Tito fought Stalinists by means of Stalinistic methods."

The most interesting and distinctive figure amongst the playwrights of that time was Aleksandar Popović (1929 – 1996). This author, who one could call a Lope de Vega due to his extensive works, distinguishes himself with the avant-garde manner, unusual fragmented structure and slang of the suburbs which he used in his plays, which is why they can be hardly translated. At the same time he was the initiator and supporter of the new dedicated Serbian drama.

Poetry and Society
This individual author was followed by many dedicated playwrights, who however belonged to the realistic direction. In first place was Dušan Kovačević (1948), who's many popular comedies with verbal humour stand in tradition to Branislav Nušić (1894 – 1938). Furthermore the young female playwrights should be mentioned, who are all graduates of the Belgrade Faculty of Dramatic Art. In the seventies there were Deana Leskovar and Milica Novković and from the eighties onwards Biljana Srbljanović, whose plays were produced about a hundred times across the world, especially in Germany after the introduction of the "Belgrade Trilogy" at the biannual festival in Bonn in 1998.

After Biljana Srbljanović, Milena Marković became known, less mimetic, with poetic flights, an innovative technique and daydream elements. Other young female playwrights who have different styles but all deal with the problems of today's society are readily produced, like Milena Bogavac (one of the few authors who works with the stage director when preparing her plays), Maja Pelević, Jelena Kajga et al.

Special emphasis must be put on the great Serbian poet and academy member Ljubomir Simović (1935). His plays are characterised by clear contents and well-defined characters, but also by an extraordinary poetic aura and rich language. The young playwrights Nebojša Romčević, Uglješa Šajtinac and Filip Vujošević are less poetic than Ljubomir Simović, but nevertheless deal more directly with the present problems.

Dienstag, 23. Januar 2018
 

Podcast Spielstätten

letzte kommentare

dank

| Drucken |

Theaterlandschaft Serbien

Beitragsseiten
Theaterlandschaft Serbien
Seite 2
Seite 3
Alle Seiten

Mit dem Untergang des sozialistischen Antirealismus, der geradezu zur offiziellen Ästhetik der Kulturmetropole Belgrads geworden war, verlor die avantgardistische Dramatik die Aura des Ketzerischen. Zur gleichen Zeit traten im sozialistischen Jugoslawien vermehrt politische und gesellschaftliche Probleme zu Tage, und es kam zeitweise zu ernsten Demonstrationen von Studenten und kritischen Intellektuellen.

Engagierte Dramatik unter Tito
Die immer wachen serbischen Dramatiker reagierten sofort. So profilierte sich eine neue Generation mittleren Alters, und "einige neue Jungs" traten mit sehr kritischen Stücken auf, die man zum Teil als staatsfeindlich und antisozialistisch erklärte. Einige wurden (und zwar auf Titos persönliches Geheiß) verboten, wie z.B. das Stück "Als die Kürbisse blühten" nach dem gleichnamigen Roman von Dragoslav Mihailović. Darin wird das Schicksal eines Menschen geschildert, der sich 1948 für Stalin und nicht für Tito entschied und wie der Autor selbst im Lager Goli Otok, einer Art Gulag, landete. Die These des Autors: "Tito bekämpfte die Stalinisten mit Hilfe stalinistischer Methoden".

Die interessanteste und markanteste Figur unter den Dramatikern jener Zeit war Aleksandar Popović (1929 – 1996). Dieser Autor, den man wegen seines umfangreichen Werks einen zeitgenössischen Lope de Vega nennen könnte, zeichnete sich dadurch aus, dass er seine Stücke in avantgardistischer Manier, mit ungewöhnlichem fragmentarischem Aufbau und im Slang der Vororte schrieb – weswegen er kaum zu übersetzen ist –, und zur gleichen Zeit der Initiator und der Träger der neuen engagierten serbischen Dramatik war.

Poesie und Gesellschaft
Auf diesen einzigartigen Autor folgt eine ganze Reihe von engagierten Dramatikern, die allerdings der realistischen Strömung angehörten. An erster Stelle Dušan Kovačević (1948), dessen zahlreiche und sehr beliebte Komödien mit verbalem Humor in der Tradition von Branislav Nušić (1894 – 1938) stehen. Weiter sind junge Dramatikerinnen zu nennen, alle Absolventinnen der Belgrader Fakultät der Schauspielkunst, und zwar in den 70er Jahren Deana Leskovar und Milica Novković und ab den 80er Jahren Biljana Srbljanović, deren Stücke nach der Vorstellung der "Belgrader Trilogie" auf der Bonner Biennale 1998 etwa hundert Inszenierungen in der ganzen Welt, vor allem in Deutschland erlebten.

Nach Biljana Srbljanović wurde Milena Marković bekannt, weniger mimetisch, mit poetischen Höhenflügen, mit einer innovativen Technik und Tagtraum-Elementen. Auch andere junge Dramatikerinnen werden gern gespielt, die verschiedenen Formstilen angehören, sich jedoch alle mit den Problemen der heutigen Gesellschaft befassen wie Milena Bogavac (eine der seltenen Autorinnen, die bei der Vorbereitung ihrer Stücke mit dem Regisseur zusammenarbeiten), Maja Pelević, Jelena Kajga u.a.

Von ihren männlichen Kollegen ist Ljubomir Simović (1935), großer serbischer Dichter und Akademiemitglied, hervorzuheben. Seine Stücke zeichnen sich durch klaren Inhalt und scharf umrissene Figuren aus, aber genauso durch eine außerordentliche poetische Aura und eine reiche Sprache. Die jungen Dramatiker Nebojša Romčević, Uglješa Šajtinac und Filip Vujošević sind weniger poetisch als Ljubomir Simović, setzen sich jedoch unmittelbarer mit den aktuellen Problemen auseinander.