Sonntag, 19. August 2018
 

Podcast on the venues

last comments

dank_en

| Print |

Theatrical Landscape of Belgium

Article Index
Theatrical Landscape of Belgium
Page 2
Page 3
All Pages

The language of others

by Georg Weinand

Going to the cinema to watch a Hollywood production is a multi linguistic experience in Brussels. All American films are shown in English and are double-subtitled: In French and in Dutch. The Belgian capital is bi-cultural and double-jointed, due to the fact that two great cultural societies of Brussels are present: The French-Romanic culture of the Walloons and the Dutch-Germanic culture of the Flemish.

Because of the double-subtitles the text changes quickly, which doesn't cause any problems for the visually trained Belgian (film-) theatre visitor: The (spoken) language is only one of many resources (occasionally a political one). As naturally as Shakespeare, Goldoni or Schiller are used as cultural references in other countries, visual artists such as the painter brothers Van Eyck or the comic artistes Hergé and René Magritte are referred to here.

"Belgian" doesn’t exist
Belgium was founded in 1830 as either an outcome of an opera performance followed by a "national uprising" or calculated European politics: A geographic buffer was to be created between the rivalling Great Powers. Until today Belgium is a country without a unified language. "Belgian" doesn't exist.

The inhabitants of the three cultural communities (There are round about 6 million Flemish, 4,5 million Walloons and a small German-speaking community in the eastern part of the country with only about 70.000 inhabitants) speak Dutch, French and German. The Belgian government structure is so complicated because the country is divided into three cultural communities by language and at the same time geographically divided into regions: The Flemish region, the Walloon region and the region of Brussels ("regions", "communities" and the nation state each have their own parliament with different fields of duty; only Flanders has pragmatically merged "region" and "community" officially). The political alliance of different cultural groups created an institutional mayhem due to ongoing simmering conflicts. This becomes especially clear in Brussels, which is francophone to 80 per cent, yet lies in the middle of a Flemish region...

The roots of the kingdom's inhabitants are different when it comes to anything that goes back further than the 19th century. In the country's schools the first official foreign language is English and no longer one of the confederate's languages. They regularly watch the neighbouring country's television. This explains why politics believes that culture is something worth investing in. One of the results is the "Flemish wave" of the eighties and nineties with innovate dancing and other dramatic combinations.

Open cooperation form
In the course of several state reforms the responsibility for 'personal spheres' (including education and culture) was directly given to the cultural communities of Flanders, Wallonia and the small German community in 1975. In Flanders the different expert commissions regularly evaluate the plans of the sectors' artists and cultural institutions and then give advice to the minister, who determines the amount of the project-linked benefits for two or four years. This procedure is based on the Dutch example, whereby the granting of funds has meanwhile been decentralised there

Freitag, 24. November 2017
 

Podcast Spielstätten

letzte kommentare

dank

| Drucken |

Theaterlandschaft Belgien

Beitragsseiten
Theaterlandschaft Belgien
Seite 2
Seite 3
Alle Seiten

Die Sprache der Anderen

von Georg Weinand

Es ist ein mehrsprachiges Erlebnis, sich in Brüssel eine Hollywood-Produktion im Kino zu gönnen. Alle amerikanischen Filme laufen im Original und sind zudem doppelt untertitelt: in Französisch und Niederländisch. Die belgische Hauptstadt ist bi-kulturell, zwei-gemeinschaftlich, weil die beiden großen Kulturgemeinschaften des Landes in Brüssel zugegen sind: die französisch-romanische Kultur der Wallonen und die niederländisch-germanische Kultur der Flamen.

Wegen der doppelten Untertitelung ändert sich der Text schnell, was dem visuell geschulten belgischen (Film-)Theaterbesucher allerdings keine Probleme bereitet: Die (gesprochene) Sprache ist auch auf Belgiens Bühnen immer nur ein Mittel unter vielen (mitunter ein politisches). So selbstverständlich wie andernorts Shakespeare, Goldoni oder Schiller als kulturelle Referenzen gelten, ist man hier mit visuellen Künstlern wie den Malerbrüdern Van Eyck, dem Comiczeichner Hergé und René Magritte vertraut.

"Belgisch" gibt es nicht
Belgien wurde 1830 je nach Quelle als Folge einer Opernaufführung mit anschließendem "Volksaufstand" oder kalkulierter Europapolitik gegründet: Es sollte ein geographischer Puffer zwischen den rivalisierenden Großmächten entstehen. Bis heute gilt: Belgien ist ein Staat ohne eine einheitliche Sprache. "Belgisch" gibt es nicht.

Die Bewohner der drei Kulturgemeinschaften (Flandern mit rund 6 Millionen Einwohner, Wallonien mit 4,5 Millionen und die kleine deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft im Osten des Landes mit nur 70.000 Bewohnern) sprechen Niederländisch, Französisch und Deutsch. Das belgische Staatsgefüge ist deshalb so kompliziert, weil das Land nach Sprachen in drei Kulturgemeinschaften geteilt ist, gleichzeitig aber auch geographisch in Regionen: die Flämische Region, die Wallonische Region und die Region Brüssel ("Regionen", "Gemeinschaften" und der Nationalstaat haben jeweils eigene Parlamente mit unterschiedlichen Aufgabenbereichen; nur Flandern hat pragmatisch "Region" und "Gemeinschaft" offiziell fusioniert). Die politische Allianz unterschiedlicher Kulturgruppen mutierte aufgrund anhaltender schwelender Konflikte zum institutionalisierten Wirrwarr. Besonders sichtbar wird das in Brüssel, das zu über 80 Prozent frankophon ist, aber inmitten flämischen Gebiets liegt...

Bei allem, was weiter als das 19. Jahrhundert zurückreicht, haben die Bewohner des Königreiches unterschiedliche Wurzeln. In den Schulen des Landes ist die erste offizielle Fremdsprache mittlerweile Englisch und nicht mehr eine der Sprachen der Landesgenossen. Regelmäßig wird das Fernsehen der Nachbarländer gesehen. Das erklärt, warum die Politik die Kultur für eine Angelegenheit hält, in die es sich zu investieren lohnt. Die 'flämische Welle' der achtziger und neunziger Jahre mit innovativem Tanz und anderen dramatischen Mischformen ist eine Folge davon.

Offene Kooperationsformen
Im Zuge mehrerer Staatsreformen wurde die Zuständigkeit für 'personengebundene Lebensbereiche' (unter anderem Ausbildung und Kultur) seit 1975 an die Kulturgemeinschaften Flandern, Wallonien und die kleine deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft direkt übertragen. In Flandern etwa beurteilen verschiedene Fachkommissionen regelmäßig die Pläne der Künstler und kulturellen Einrichtungen des Sektors und geben Empfehlungen an den Minister ab, der die Höhe der Zuschüsse projektgebunden, für zwei Jahre oder vier Jahre festlegt. Dieses Vorgehen basiert auf dem niederländischen Vorbild, wobei dort inzwischen auch die Mittelvergabe dezentralisiert wurde.